Boston Marathon History

winners and records

key events in history, modern year-by-year results

1897:The first marathon

1900: The first international presence

1901: Scandal, legalized betting and first-ever marathon photos

1907: Course changes & Heartbreak Hill

1916: First Bostonian wins

1918: Marathon cancelled; relay race instead

1920: Boston Classic Chosen as Olympic Marathon Trials

1921: Zuna sets course record of 2:18:57

1924: DeMar sets new world's record

1935: Johnny Kelley wins first victory

1953: A year of world-record-breaking times

1957: John J. Kelley finally wins Boston Marathon

1972: Women officially acknowledged in BAA race

1975: Rodgers, Winter obliterate record books

1979: Rodgers breaks own course record for third win; Benoit takes women's division

1980: Rosie Ruiz pulls the ultimate prank

1983: Joan Benoit carves out a new world

1986: De Castella and Kristiansen win first cash prize

1990: Gelindo Bordin is the first Olympic gold medalist to win Boston

1993: Cosmas Ndeti wins his first

1996: A stunning push near finish makes Pippig three-time champ

1997: A new order: Kenya's Lameck Aguta, Ethiopia's Fatuma Roba win 101st running

1998: Tanui regains Boston crown, Roba makes it two in a row

1999: Fatuma Roba repeats; Kenya's Joseph Chebet finally wins

2000: Elijah Lagat wins closest race to date; Catherine Ndereba breaks through

2001: Lee Bong Ju of Korea breaks Kenyan stranglehold; Ndereba wins again

2002: Rop leads comeback by Kenyan men; Okayo KOs course record

2003: Cheruiyot leads sweep by Kenyan men; Russian women take 1-2

2004: Kenyans take the titles: Timothy Cherigat wins the men's race, and Catherine Ndereba wins the women's.

2005: Catherine Ndereba makes history with a fourth Boston title; Hailu Negussie wins men's race.

2006: Experience guided Robert Cheruiyot to a record run (by just one second) and second win in the Boston Marathon.

2007: The 111th Boston Marathon went off without a hitch in its stride amid the worst conditions since 1970.

2008: Four-time champ Robert Cheruiyot made it look easy on Marathon Monday.

2009: Kenya's Salina Kosgei won the closest women's race in the 113-year history of the event.

2010: Robert “The Younger’’ Cheruiyot shattered the course record in the 114th Boston Marathon.

2011: Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya ran the fastest marathon ever, finishing in 2:03:52, but it was not registered as a world record because of the design of the Boston course. Mutai shaved more than two minutes off the previous Boston record.

2012: Wesley Korir weathered temperatures in the mid-80s to win the men's elite race in the 116th Boston Marathon, while Carlonie Cherop won the women's elite race.