your connection to The Boston Globe

Academy inducts 196 into the fold

Harvard ceremony honors leaders

CAMBRIDGE -- Scholars, artists, and executives are among new fellows and honorary members who were inducted yesterday into the 225th class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The new members were inducted in a ceremony at Harvard University's Sanders Theatre.

Among the inductees speaking at the ceremony were Tom Brokaw, former anchor of the NBC Nightly News; physicist and Nobel laureate Eric Cornell; Harvard Law School dean and former White House official Elena Kagan; historian and University of Chicago provost Richard Saller; poet Susan Stewart; and genetics pioneer Nancy Wexler.

Some of the other inductees include: Rudiger Wehner, a researcher who showed how the honeybee's eyes and brain use the sky for navigation; Edith Flanigen, a pioneer in molecular chemistry who invented more than 200 synthetic materials; Christopher Donnan, the leading specialist on Peru's oldest pre-Hispanic state; William Bridges, the inventor of the Argon laser; Horton Foote, an Academy Award-winning screenwriter; Art Spiegelman, a Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist; Larry Page and Sergey Brin, cofounders of Google; and Anne Moore, chairwoman and CEO of Time, Inc.

The academy honored 196 inductees from 26 states and 17 foreign honorary members from 10 countries.

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and others, the academy has honored leaders ranging from George Washington to Albert Einstein.

Today (free)
Yesterday (free)
Past 30 days
Last 12 months
 Advanced search / Historic Archives