News your connection to The Boston Globe

List of people asked to join task force

By Globe Staff, 3/5/2003

Edward Flynn named these members to join him on the Massachusetts Task Force on Racial and Gender Disparities in Traffic Stops:

From law enforcement: US Attorney Michael J. Sullivan, and assistant Marianne C. Hinkle; state Attorney General Tom Reilly and assistants Al Chakravarty, Richard Cole, Quinton Dale, Alice E. Moore and Dean Richlin; Barnstable Police Chief John Finnegan; Boston Police Commissioner Paul F. Evans and Superintendent Ann Marie Doherty; Brookline Police Chief Daniel C. O'Leary and Captain Peter M. Scott; Cambridge Police Commissioner Ronnie Watson and legal counsel Cristina Beamud; Michael O'Keefe, Cape and Islands district attorney; Lowell Police Superintendent Edward F. Davis III; Kenneth R. Daddabbo, president, Massachusetts Minority State Police Officers Association; MBTA Police Chief Joseph C. Carter; Plainville Police Chief Edward M. Merrick, also president of the Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association, and general counsel John M. Collins; Colonel Thomas J. Foley, superintendent, Massachusetts State Police; Milton Police Chief Kevin J. Mearn; New Bedford Police Chief Arthur J. Kelly III; Catherine K. Byrne, assistant, Federal Public Defender Office; Saundra Edwards, assistant district attorney, Plymouth County; Springfield Police Chief Paula Meara; Suffolk County District Attorney Daniel F. Conley and assistant Stacey Fortes-White; Suffolk County Sheriff Andrea J. Cabral.

From civil rights and community groups: Ronal Madnick, William Newman, and Carol Rose of the American Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts; Robert Leikind, Anti-Defamation League New England; Reba Danastorg, Boston Ten Point Coalition; Juan R. Vega, Centro Latino de Chelsea; Mary L. Bonauto, Gay & Lesbian Advocates and Defenders; William Rodriguez, La Alianza Hispana; Leonard C. Alkins, Lee Charlton, Janina Millet, John Reed, and Lisa Riddick, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People; the Rev. Jeffrey Brown, Union Baptist Church; Darnell L. Williams, Urban League of Eastern Massachusetts; Henry M. Thomas III, Urban League of Springfield; and Samuel Williams, Youth Opportunity Boston.

From government: state Representative Reed V. Hillman; state Senator Dianne Wilkerson; state Senator Stanley C. Rosenberg; Registrar Kimberly Hinden, general counsel Erin Deveney and Mary Ann Mulhall, director of the Registry's Merit Rating Board.

From academia: Jack McDevitt, Northeastern University; Albert P. Cardarelli, UMass-Boston; Jacinta Ma, Harvard University.

This story ran on page B3 of the Boston Globe on 3/5/2003.
© Copyright 2003 Globe Newspaper Company.

Globe Archives Today (free)
Yesterday (free)
Past 30 days
Last 12 months
 Advanced search