< Back to front page Text size +

Wellesley reelects incumbents to School Committee, Board of Selectmen

Posted by Evan Allen  March 13, 2012 09:42 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Incumbents won reelection to the Wellesley School Committee and Board of Selectmen Tuesday as a quarter of the town’s 15,478 registered voters cast their ballots.

School Committee incumbent KC Kato was elected to a second term. Board of Selectmen incumbent Terri Tsagaris was also reelected.

Three people were vying for two seats in both the School Committee race and the Board of Selectmen race.

Kato came out on top in the School Committee race with 2,288 votes. Newcomer Tere Ramos was elected with 1,591 votes. Jennifer Looper was not elected after receiving 1,422 votes. Committee member Ilissa Povich did not run for reelection.

Tsagaris finished first in the Board of Selectmen race with 2,394 votes. Donald McCauley was also elected, receiving 2,164 votes. Royall Switzler won just 1,640 votes, and was not elected. Selectman Owen Dugan did not run for reelection.

The School Committee and Board of Selectmen races were the only races that were contested for town-wide positions.

Margaret Metzger was reelected as the Town Moderator for a one-year term with 2,622 votes.

W Arthur Garrity III was elected to a three-year term on the board of assessors with 2,466 votes.

Marcia Testa Simonson was reelected to a three-year term on the board of health with 2,358 votes.

Amanda Fischman Henshon was reelected with 2,244 votes and Jessica Wolfe was elected with 2,191 votes to the board of library trustees, both for three-year terms.

Heidi Gross was reelected with 2,176 votes and Stephen Murphy was elected with 2,218 votes to the Natural Resources Commission, both for three-year terms.

Mark Synnott was elected to the Planning Board for a five-year term with 2,249 votes.

David Donohue was reelected to the Board of Public Works for a three-year term with 2,349 votes.

James Conlin was reelected with 2,192 votes and Joanne "Jodi" Baier was elected with 1,999 votes to the Recreation Commission, both for three-year terms.

Kathleen Nagle was reelected with 2,679 votes as the Town Clerk for a three-year term.

Results for Town Meeting members will be announced later.

The results released tonight do not include hand-counted and write-in votes.

There will be a general swearing in and reception for town-wide elected officers on Wednesday at 7 p.m. in the Great Hall in Wellesley’s Town Hall. It will be open to the public.

Swearing in for newly-elected town meeting members will happen on the first night of Town Meeting on March 26.

Today was the second election in as many weeks for Wellesley, which voted in the presidential primary on March 6 as part of Super Tuesday.

Nagle described voter turnout in today’s election in an email as “low but not too bad.”

Turnout for the March 6 election was low also, said Nagle, with about 3,200 people total turning out to vote.

The presidential primary conflicted with Wellesley’s usual local election date of the first Tuesday in March, which is why the town had two elections in two weeks.

Evan Allen can be reached at

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article