< Back to front page Text size +

Three longtime Somerville aldermen won't run for reelection

Posted by Jarret Bencks  June 24, 2013 11:58 AM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

A changing of the guard on the Somerville Board of Aldermen that has been underway since the resignation of Bill Roche in December will continue on election day in November.

Incumbent aldermen Bruce Desmond, Tom Taylor and Robert Trane did not submit nomination papers and won't be appearing on ballots in a preliminary election in September, or the general election in November, according to the city's elections office.

Desmond has served on the Board of Aldermen since 2001, Taylor since 1986, and Trane since 2002. Desmond is an at-large aldermen, while Taylor represents Ward 3 and Trane Ward 7.

By the beginning of 2014, when their three replacements take office, the 11-member board will have seen a change-over of nearly half of its members in a 13-month span.

After resigning in December, Roche, who represented Ward 1, became the city's interim personnel director and in March took over the job permanently. Ward 5 Aldermen Sean O'Donovan resigned in April, citing a desire to spend more time focusing on his family and his law practice.

School Committee member Maureen Bastardi was appointed to take Roche's seat and Courtney O'Keefe was appointed to O'Donovan's seat. Both were recommended for the positions by the out-going aldermen when they resigned.

Incumbents Maryann Heuston, Ward 2, Tony Lafuente, Ward 4, and Rebekah Gewirtz, Ward 6, are all running unopposed. All other aldermen posts have multiple candidates. Somerville Mayor Joseph Curtatone is also running unopposed.

Here's a look at who is running for office in Somerville (I: incumbent):

Mayor: Joseph A. "Joe" Curtatone

Alderman at Large: Mary Jo Rossetti, Sean J. Fitzgerald John M. "Jack" Connolly, Jr. (I) William A. "Bill" White, Jr. (I), Dennis Michael Sullivan (I), Carol A. Dempkowski, William A. Medeiros

Alderman Ward One: Elio LoRusso, Maureen Bastardi (I), Matthew C. McLaughlin

Alderman Ward Two: Maryann M. Heuston (I)
Alderman Ward Three: Matthew T. Desmond, Robert J. McWatters, Stephen A. Delani, Suzanne W. Bremer

Alderman Ward Four: Tony Lafuente (I)
Alderman Ward Five: Courtney K. O'Keefe (I), Mark Niedergang

Alderman Ward Six: Rebekah L. Gewirtz (I)

Alderman Ward Seven: Katjana Ballantyne, Joseph A. Capuano

School Committee Ward One: Steven P. Roix (I), Kenneth M. Salvato

School Committee Ward Two: Michael D. Nionakis, Dan J. Futrell

School Committee Ward Three: Adam W. Sweeting (I)

School Committee Ward Four: Christine Theberge Rafal (I)

School Committee Ward Five: Laura J. Pitone, Caroline Shea Rosas, Ross M. Richmond

School Committee Ward Six: Paul Bockelman (I)

School Committee Ward Seven: Caroline Lynch Normand

Jarret Bencks can be reached at Follow him on twitter @JarretBencks.

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article