< Back to front page Text size +

Four candidates will vie for mayor in Newton, as filing deadline passes

Posted by John Swinconeck  July 30, 2013 05:27 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Three candidates gathered enough signatures by Tuesday afternoon's filing deadline to challenge incumbent Mayor Setti Warren's bid for a second term in office.

Warren will face Alderman Ted Hess-Mahan, public access TV host Tom Sheff, and political activist Jackie Gauvreau Sequeira, according to the City Clerk’s office.

Gauvreau Sequeira’s nomination papers came in just under the wire – she had been working to secure the 400 signatures needed to appear on the ballot over the weekend.

All signatures have been certified, said City Clerk David Olson.

The list of candidates to appear on the ballot will be official by Aug. 15 at 5 p.m., the last day for a candidate to withdraw from the race.

A preliminary election will be held Sept. 17 to narrow the mayoral field and the Ward 1 Alderman field to two candidates each. The general election will be held Nov. 5.

Candidates in other Newton municipal races include the following:

Ward 1
Alderman-at-Large: Allan Ciccone Jr., Scott Lennon
Ward Alderman: Allan Ciccone, Alison Leary, Roger Morrocco, Jr.
School Committee: Ellen Gibson

Ward 2
Alderman-at-Large: Susan Albright, Marcia Johnson
Ward Alderman: Emily Norton, Eve Tapper
School Committee: Margaret Albright, Andrea Steenstrup

Ward 3
Alderman-at-Large: Ted Hess-Mahan, James Cote
Ward Alderman: Anthony Salvucci
School Committee: Angela Pitter-Wright

Ward 4
Alderman-at-Large: Leonard Gentile, Amy Mah Sangiolo
Ward Alderman: Jay Harney
School Committee: Diana Fisher Gomberg

Ward 5
Alderman-at-Large: Deborah Crossley, Brian Yates, Christopher Steele
Ward Alderman: John Rice
School Committee: Steven Siegel

Ward 6
Alderman-at-Large: Victoria Danberg, Greg Schwartz
Ward Alderman: Richard Blazar
School Committee: Ruth Goldman

Ward 7
Alderman-at-Large: Ruthanne Fuller, Marc Laredo
Ward Alderman: R. Lisle Baker
School Committee: Matthew Hills

Ward 8
Alderman-at-Large: David Kalis, Richard Lipof
Ward Alderman: Cheryl Lappin
School Committee: Margie Ross Decter School Committee

Contact John Swinconeck at Follow @johnswinc on Twitter.

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article