< Back to front page Text size +

Two Belmont churches to form a cluster in Archdiocese parish reorganization plan

Posted by Your Town  January 10, 2013 03:24 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Boston on Thursday announced the names of more than two dozen parishes participating in the first phase of a major reorganization that will eventually group the archdiocese’s 288 parishes into about 135 clusters, each led by a team of clergy and lay leaders.

Saint Luke and Saint Joseph in Belmont will form a cluster and share resources in the reorganization plan. The parishes will remain open, but church officials said they hope will learn to work together.

Father Gerard Petringa, the pastor at St Luke’s, said his parish volunteered for a collaborative with St. Joseph’s because parish leadership sees it as the future of the church.

“It’s an exciting time for us,” he said. “We’re hopeful. We’re looking to move forward and embrace this new model.”

Asked about the differences between the two parishes, Petringa said they are slight and have to do with activities offered or minor variations in styles of worship.

“Every parish has its own personality that develops over the years, and I would say there are some differences between the two parishes but nothing that is insurmountable,” he said.

Here is a list, provided by the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Boston, of the 28 parishes that will be grouped into 12 clusters, or “collaboratives,” in the first phase of the archdiocese’s reorganization plan:

1. Saint Luke and Saint Joseph, Belmont

2. Saint Mary, Saint Margaret, Saint John, Beverly

3. Saint Mary, Saint Theresa, Saint Andrew, Billerica

4. Saint Mary, Brookline (a one-parish collaborative)

5. Saint Mary of the Angels, Roxbury and Saint Thomas and Our Lady of Lourdes, Jamaica Plain

6. Saint Mary and Sacred Heart, Lynn

7. Our Lady of the Assumption and Saint Maria Goretti, Lynnfield

8. Saint Lucy and Saint Monica, Methuen

9. Sacred Heart, Middleboro and Saints Martha and Mary, Lakeville

10. Sacred Heart and Our Lady Help of Christians, Newton

11. Saint James, Saint John, Immaculate Conception, and Saint Anne, Salem

12. Saint Jerome and Immaculate Conception, Weymouth

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article