Dr. Richard V. Aghababian to lead Mass. Medical Society

Dr. Richard V. Aghababian/Courtesy photo

Dr. Richard V. Aghababian, the founding chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School who is now retired, was elected to lead the Massachusetts Medical Society at the group’s annual meeting Thursday morning.

Aghababian, who is from Southborough, will succeed Worcester pediatrician Dr. Lynda Young for a one-year term starting next week. He has a long history of involvement with the society, which represents about 24,000 physicians and medical students in the state.

Aghababian attended Harvard College and studied medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He teaches and writes about disaster response and preparedness, and he is a fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Dr. Ronald W. Dunlap of South Shore Cardiology in Weymouth was elected president-elect. Dr. Richard S. Pieters, Jr., a radiation oncologist at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center was chosen as vice president.

Here are the results of the other elections, from the press release:

Deanna P. Ricker, M.D., of Cambridge, a board-certified ophthalmologist in Needham, was re-elected Secretary-Treasurer; Peter B. Kang, M.D., of Brookline, a pediatric neurologist and physician/scientist at Children’s Hospital Boston, was re-elected Assistant Secretary-Treasurer; Jesse M. Ehrenfeld, M.D., M.P.H., an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Biomedical Informatics at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine and an Assistant-in-Anesthesia at Massachusetts General Hospital, was elected Speaker of the House of Delegates; David A. Rosman, M.D., M.B.A., of Jamaica Plain, Medical Director of Mass General Imaging in Worcester and an Assistant Radiologist at Massachusetts General Hospital, was elected Vice Speaker of the House of Delegates.