RadioBDC Logo
| Listen Live
< Back to front page Text size +

Revolution-Red Bulls final: 2-0

Posted by Staff  July 8, 2012 07:00 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Final score: Revolution, 2-0. Jerry Bengtson scored in his MLS debut as the Revolution (6-7-4) improved to 5-1-3 at home this season, surpassing last season's win total.

84th minute, Revolution, 2-0. Jerry Bengtson scored his first Revolution goal, 24 minutes into his debut game.The secore was set up as Saer Sene' and Shalrie Joseph played a give-and-go, Sene's shot stopped by Ryan Meara, Bengtson finishing into an open net.

83d minute, Revolution, 1-0. Victor Palsson replaced Stephen Keel for New York.

73d minute: Revolution, 1-0. Shalrie Joseph replaced Benny Feilhaber, then put Saer Sene' through for a shot, easily saved by Ryan Meara.

67th minute: Revolution, 1-0. New York's Joel Lindpere cautioned after elbowing Lee Nguyen.

60th minute: Revolution, 1-0. Honduran forward Jerry Bengtson made his Revolution debut, replacing Blake Brettschneider.

56th minute: Revolution, 1-0. The Red Bulls' Kenny Cooper's 22-yarder hit the inside of the right post.

54th minute: Revolution, 1-0. Blake Brettschneider stapped a Saer Sene' cross high.

Halftime: Revolution, 1-0. The Red Bulls got their possession game going late in the half. But the Revolution had the best chances and had several opportunities to up their lead.

40th minute: Revolution. 1-0. A.J. Soares headed off the crossbar off a Benny Feilhaber free kick, then Blake Brettschneider's follow was blocked.

25th minute: Revolution, 1-0. The Revolution's Saer Sene' missed wide on a breakaway.

24th minute: Revolution, 1-0. Lee Nguyen scored his third goal of the season with a low shot from the top of the penalty arc.

16th minute: 0-0. Revolution threatening on left through Lee Nguyen and Saer Sene'. New York's Dane Richards cautioned after a collision with Benny Feilhaber in the ninth minute.

REVOLUTION: Bobby Shuttleworth; Kevin Alston, Stephen McCarthy, A.J. Soares, Chris Tierney; Kelyn Rowe, Clyde Simms, Benny Feilhaber, Lee Nguyen; Saer Sene’, Blake Brettschneider.
NEW YORK: Ryan Meara; Brandon Barklage, Stephen Keel, Wilman Conde, Roy Miller; Mehdi Ballouchy, Connor Lade, Joel Lindpere, Dax McCarty; Kenny Cooper, Dane Richards.
Referee: Drew Fischer.

This blog is not written or edited by or the Boston Globe.
The author is solely responsible for the content.

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

About Corner Kicks: Julian Cardillo offers insight and analysis about the New England Revolution as well as European and international soccer.

Translate this page

Loading menu...


browse this blog

by category