Boston Globe names scholar-athletes of the year

The Boston Globe 2009-2010 Scholar-Athlete award winners in front of the Globe on Monday May, 31 2010. (Matthew J. Lee / Globe Staff) The Boston Globe 2009-2010 Scholar-Athlete award winners in front of the Globe on Monday May, 31 2010. (Matthew J. Lee / Globe Staff)
By Bob Holmes
Globe Staff / June 27, 2010

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Your article has been sent.

Text size +

In its last act before stepping full time into summer, the Boston Globe saluted the Richard Phelps Scholar-Athletes Sunday afternoon at its annual award ceremony in Dorchester.

Fourteen scholar-athletes were honored along with the Globe’s four Athletes of the Year for 2009-10. The 14 represent six MIAA districts along with Boston.

Each student-athlete receives $3,000 for college. The winners are:

District A: Christopher Splinter, Masconomet and Grace Wilson, Acton-Boxboro.

District B: James Collins, Reading and Hannah Brickley, Melrose.

District C: Dan Regan, Norwell and Molly Breen, Millis.

District D: Blake Blaze, Barnstable and Phoebe Laplante, Bishop Stang.

District E: David Jasukonis, St. Mary’s (Worcester) and Rebecca Mongeau, Westboro.

District H: A.J. Rossi, St. John’s Prep and Michelle Macchione, St. Mary’s (Lynn).

Boston: John Giammarco, East Boston and Wildia Capre, Madison Park.

In addition to the Phelps Scholars, the Globe announced its Athletes of the Year for MIAA-member schools, an award named after longtime Globe columnist Will McDonough.

The female winner was also a Scholar-Athlete, Molly Breen of Millis.

Breen was a Tri-Valley All-Star in soccer as well as an EMass Soccer Coaches Association Division 3 All-Star. In the winter she was a two-time basketball All-Scholastic and finished as the leading scorer in school history. In the spring she again earned all-star honors, this time in track where she qualified for state competition in the javelin, 800, and shot put.

Our male winner was Gloucester’s Conor Ressel. Ressel was the Globe’s Division 1A football Player of the Year, was a two-time Northeastern Conference hockey All-Star, and was the Globe’s Division 2 Player of the Year in baseball.

The Globe also selected players of the year for student-athletes at New England Prep Schools.

The male winner was Derek Papagianopoulos of BB&N. Papagianopoulos was the ISL MVP in football as well as the NEPSAC Class B Player of the Year. In the winter he was ISL MVP and an All-American in wrestling and he finished the year as a long stick defender on the lacrosse team.

The female winner was Beverly Leon of Milton Academy. Leon was the ISL MVP in soccer, an ISL All-Star and team MVP in basketball, and an ISL All-Star in track after top-five finishes at New Englands in the triple jump and high jump.

2010 Spring All-Scholastics
Follow Sports on Facebook