All about the 2011 Boston Marathon

Fact and figures about the 115th running of the Boston Marathon

April 4, 2011

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Your article has been sent.

Text size +

Date: Monday, April 18

Start times: 9 a.m., mobility impaired; 9:17 a.m., wheelchair; 9:22 a.m., handcycle; 9:32 a.m., elite women; 10 a.m., elite men and wave one; 10:20 a.m., Second wave; 10:40 a.m., Third wave.

Distance: 26 miles, 385 yards

Television: Channel 4 (WBZ),

Prize money: $806,000

Sponsor: John Hancock Financial Services

Organizer: Boston Athletic Association

The course: Begins in Hopkinton, ends in Boston.

Course Records

Men’s Open: Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (Kenya), 2:05:52, 2010

Women’s Open: Margaret Okayo (Kenya), 2:20:43, 2002

Men’s Masters: John Campbell (New Zealand), 2:11:04, 1990

Women’s Masters: Firaya Sultanova-Zhdanova (Russia), 2:27:58, 2002

Men’s Push Rim Wheelchair: Ernst Van Dyk (South Africa), 1:18:27, 2004

Women’s Push Rim Wheelchair: Jean Driscoll (United States), 1:34:22, 1994

2010 Champions

Men’s Open: Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (Kenya), 2:05:52

Women’s Open: Teyba Erkesso (Ethiopia), 2:26:11

Men’s Masters: James Koskei (Kenya), 2:17:28

Women’s Masters: Denise Robson (Canada), 2:43:16

Men’s Push Rim Wheelchair: Ernst Van Dyk (South Africa), 1:26:53

Women’s Push Rim Wheelchair: Wakako Tsuchida (Japan), 1:43:32

Field: Limited to 26,800 participants

Runner's Expo: Friday, April 15 (2-7 p.m.); Saturday, April 16 (9 a.m. - 6 p.m.); Sunday, April 17 (9 a.m. - 6 p.m.) at Hynes Convention Center

Other events

B.A.A. 5K and mile races: Sunday, April 17, 8 a.m.

Pre-race dinner: Sunday, April 17 at City Hall Plaza (near Faneuil Hall)

Awards ceremony: Monday, April 18, 5 p.m., Fairmont Copley Plaza