Ryan Hall among top US runners entered in 2013 Boston Marathon

All three members of the US men’s marathon team at the London Olympics will run the Boston Marathon, event sponsor John Hancock Financial announced Tuesday.

Ryan Hall, who holds the American record in the Boston Marathon, Meb Keflezighi, and Abdi Abdirahman headline the list of elite American men entered in the 117th running on April 15, and will be joined by Jason Hartmann and Fernando Cabada.

The elite American women’s field includes Serena Burla, Stephanie Rothstein, and Alissa McKaig. Olympic marathoners Shalane Flanagan and Kara Goucher were previously announced as entrants this year.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

“Boston, as with so many other marathoners, holds a special place in my heart and mind,” said Hall in a press release. “I go back this year eager to experience all that Boston has to offer: the epic crowds, the challenging course, but mainly to be a part of and make history.”

Hall finished fourth and set an American course record in Boston in 2011 with a time of 2:04.58 in the same race Geoffrey Mutai ran the fastest marathon ever (2:03.02).

Keflezighi was fourth at the Olympic marathon in London after winning the US trials. He was fifth at Boston in 2010.

Abdirahman, who competed in the 10,000 at the Olympics in 2000, 2004, and 2008 before switching to the marathon for the 2012 Games, will run his first Boston. Neither Abdirahman nor Hall finished the Olympic marathon.

Hartmann was the top American at the 2012 Boston Marathon with his fourth-place finish.

Burla, who had a malignant tumor removed from her hamstring in 2010, has made a remarkable comeback with a third-place finish at a marathon in Korea in 2012 and a second-place finish in 2011.

Rothstein was third at the 2012 Honolulu Marathon and had a personal-best 2:29.35 in a third-place finish in Houston in 2011. McKaig was eighth at the 2012 US Olympic trials.