< Back to front page Text size +

Chara, Thomas up for awards tonight

Posted by Kevin Paul Dupont, Globe Staff  June 22, 2011 01:12 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

LAS VEGAS -- Greetings and good luck from Sin City, where tonight (7 pm, ET, Versus) at the Palms Casino and Resort the NHL holds its annual awards ceremony, with Bruins goalie Tim Thomas hoping to win a second Vezina Trophy as the league's top 'tender, and captain Zdeno Chara hoping to land his second Norris Trophy as the game's No. 1 blueliner.

Check back here at boston.com through the day, especially once the handing out of the hardware begins. Well have the trophy-by-trophy updates.

Chara won his first Norris in 2009, Thomas his first Vezina the same year. Now both in possession of a Cup win (a week ago tonight), a double dip here tonight of Vezina and Norris glory could guarantee each a spot in the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Chara is also among the finalists for the Mark Messier Leadership Award.

Since the first Norris was awarded in 1954, only 11 players have been repeat winners, the field dominated by Bobby Orr (8), Doug Harvey (7), Nicklas Lidstrom (6) and Ray Bourque (5).

If Chara wins again tonight, he will bring to 15 the number of Norris Trophies won by Boston backliners. The franchise runnerup is Montreal with 11: Harvey (7), Jacques Laperriere (1), Larry Robinson (2) and Chris Chelios (1). Chelios won twice more, both times as a member of the Blackhawks.

A total of 20 goaliies have won the Vezina more than once, the field dominated by Jacques Plante (7), Bill Duran (6), Dominik Hasek (6), Ken Dryden (5), Tiny Thompson (4), Terry Sawchuk (4) and Martin Brodeur (4). The Boston winners include Thompson, Frank Brimsek (2) and Thomas (1).

It's the Globe. It's your world. Stay on top of it. Just keep the five-hole covered.

News, analysis and commentary from the following Boston Globe writers:

NHL video


browse this blog

by category