< Back to front page Text size +

Bergeron shut out of Selke race

Posted by Fluto Shinzawa, Globe Staff  April 20, 2010 05:29 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Patrice Bergeron, who received an emphatic approval last week from Claude Julien to be recognized as the NHL's best defensive forward, will not win the Selke Trophy. Pavel Datsyuk, Ryan Kesler, and Jordan Staal are the finalists for the award. Datsyuk is the two-time defending Selke winner. Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association vote on the award.

This observer's ballot had Bergeron, Staal, Mikko Koivu, Ryan Callahan, and Mike Fisher as five selections. While players rave about Datsyuk's all-around game, the Detroit center only averaged 44 seconds of shorthanded ice time per game, which was a factor in leaving him off my ballot. In comparison, Staal averaged 3:20 of time on the penalty kill per game.

Bergeron averaged 1:56 of shorthanded TOI per game while winning 58 percent of his faceoffs and playing against top lines.

News, analysis and commentary from the following Boston Globe writers:

NHL video


browse this blog

by category