Charley Hoffman, Hunter Mahan, Bubba Watson pace Travelers

This is a summary. To read the whole story subscribe to

Hunter Mahan made the Travelers Championship his first PGA Tour victory, in 2007. Bubba Watson followed in 2010.

Charley Hoffman already owns two PGA Tour wins — the last coming in the 2010 Deutsche Bank Championship at TPC Boston — but he’s never won at Travelers.

Its no surprise that those three players were at the top of the leader board on Thursday, then. Mahan has won more money in this event ($2.4 million) than anybody else, Watson has a win and a second-place finish in the past three years, and Hoffman tied Watson for second last year.

They took advantage of a TPC River Highlands course still wet from Tuesday’s rain, with Hoffman shooting a 9-under-par 61 to take a one-shot lead on Mahan, and two shots on Watson.

Full story for subscribers.

Get the full story with unlimited access to

Just 99 cents for four weeks.