< Back to front page Text size +

Welker is Ed Block Courage Award winner

Posted by Shalise Manza Young, Globe Staff  December 29, 2010 03:39 PM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

wes-welker.jpgNew England players voted receiver Wes Welker as the team's 2010 Ed Block Courage Award recipient.

The honor is given annually to the player on each team who "best exemplifies the principles of courage and sportsmanship while also serving as a source of inspiration."

Welker tore his ACL and MCL in the Patriots' 2009 regular-season finale Jan. 3 and underwent surgery a month later; when New England returned to the field for minicamp in June, Welker was with the team, and he was on the field for the first offensive snap of the regular season.

He currently has a team-leading 86 catches for 848 yards and seven touchdowns.

Welker and award winners from the 31 other NFL teams will be honored at the 33d Annual Ed Block Courage Awards Banquet in Baltimore March 8, 2011.

The award is named after Ed Block, the longtime head trainer for the Baltimore Colts and a respected humanitarian dedicated to helping children. Recipients are often players who have overcome devastating injuries or tragedies in their personal lives to return to top-level competition in the NFL.

News, analysis and commentary from Boston.com's staff writers and contributors, including Zuri Berry and Erik Frenz.

NFL video

Watch Patriots analysis and commentary by CineSport

browse this blog

by category