college roundup

Tebow picks up Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards

Email|Print| Text size + By
Associated Press / December 7, 2007

Tim Tebow stopped off in central Florida yesterday on the way to the Heisman Trophy presentation and picked up the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards.

The Florida quarterback beat out fellow Heisman finalist Darren McFadden of Arkansas and Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's best all-around player, at the college football awards show held at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista.

"I just want to thank my teammates and all the seniors back in Gainesville," Tebow said. "I'm just glad to be a Gator."

Tebow, the first player in major college football to run for at least 20 touchdowns and throw for at least 20 in the same season, is considered the favorite for the Heisman.

Tebow beat out Missouri quarterback Chase Daniel and Dixon for the O'Brien award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

McFadden won the Doak Walker Award for best running back for the second consecutive season. McFadden ran for 1,725 yards and had 2,172 all-purpose yards, breaking the school records he set last year.

Penn State linebacker Dan Connor won the Bednarik Trophy as the nation's best defensive player, making it three straight and four overall for the Nittany Lions.

Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree became the first freshman to win the Biletnikoff Award, given to the top receiver. Crabtree leads the nation with 125 catches and 1,861 yards receiving.

Arizona cornerback Antoine Cason won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's best defensive back, Thomas Weber of Arizona State took the Lou Groza Award for best kicker, and Georgia Tech's Durant Brooks won the Ray Guy Award as the best punter.

The coach of the year was Kansas's Mark Mangino, who led the Jayhawks to a school-record 11 victories and their first Bowl Championship Series appearance.

Men's basketball

South Carolina 68, Providence 67 - Devan Downey scored 21 points and Mike Holmes had 12 to lead the Gamecocks over the Friars in the Big East/SEC Invitational in Philadelphia.

Villanova 68, LSU 67 - Malcolm Grant converted a 4-point play and scored 13 points over the final three minutes, and Dante Cunningham scored the winner with 5.9 seconds left as the 25th-ranked Wildcats rallied to stun the Tigers in the Big East/SEC Invitational.

Brown 68, New Hampshire 52 - Mark McAndrew scored 19 points as the host Bears (5-3) beat the Wildcats (3-5). McAndrew hit three 3-pointers and moved into ninth place on Brown's all-time list with 118 3-point baskets.

UMass-Lowell 81, Southern Conn. 78 - Dashon Harper had 20 points and Victor Colon added 19 to lift the River Hawks over the Owls in overtime in Lowell.

Butler 53, Detroit 46 - Matt Howard scored 20 points and Julian Betko hit a late 3-pointer to help the No. 13 Bulldogs beat the host Titans in the Horizon League opener for both teams.

Quinnipiac 90, St. Francis 79 - DeMario Anderson scored 25 points and had a game-high 11 rebounds to lead the Bobcats over the Terriers in Hamden, Conn.

Women's basketball

Texas A&M 81, Florida St. 67 - Takia Starks scored 12 of her 28 points in the game's first five minutes and the No. 12 Aggies defeated the Seminoles in College Station, Texas.

Duke 49, Rutgers 44 - Carrem Gay's free throw with 30 seconds left put the No. 17 Blue Devils (6-3) ahead to stay in their victory over the No. 4 Scarlet Knights.

Vanderbilt 75, Western Kentucky 54 - Liz Sherwood scored 20 points to lead the No. 20 Commodores over the Lady Toppers in Nashville.

more stories like this

  • Email
  • Email
  • Print
  • Print
  • Single page
  • Single page
  • Reprints
  • Reprints
  • Share
  • Share
  • Comment
  • Comment
  • Share on DiggShare on Digg
  • Tag with Save this article
  • powered by
Your Name Your e-mail address (for return address purposes) E-mail address of recipients (separate multiple addresses with commas) Name and both e-mail fields are required.
Message (optional)
Disclaimer: does not share this information or keep it permanently, as it is for the sole purpose of sending this one time e-mail.