< Back to front page Text size +

Mauro Gomez named International League MVP, post season All-Star

Posted by Craig Forde  August 28, 2012 11:06 AM

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Mauro.jpgIn a season during which he has made four separate trips to the big club, where he now currently resides, former Pawtucket Red Sox 1B/DH Mauro Gomez was named the International League’s Most Valuable Player on Tuesday.

Gomez and fellow Boston shuttle-takers Jose Iglesias and Ryan Lavarnway were also named to the 2012 International League post-season All-Star Team.

In 100 games with Pawtucket, Gomez hit .310 with 59 of his 120 hits going for extra bases. He is second in the International League with 24 home runs, first in slugging percentage (.589) and fourth in RBIs (74). He becomes the seventh PawSox player to win the league MVP and first since Jeff Bailey received the honor in 2008. Gomez made his big league debut with Boston back on May 14th and returned to the club on August 18th where he has been since.

Highly regarded as one of the best fielding shortstops in the game, Jose Iglesias battled through injuries and an early season slump to play in 88 games for the PawSox. Voted the league's Best Defensive Shortstop for the last two years, he had a .966 fielding percentage on 384 chances at the position this year. Iglesias batted .266 with 23 RBIs, 46 runs, 12 stolen bases and struck out only 46 times in 353 plate appearances. The Cuban born shortstop was called up to Boston on August 25th for the second time this season.

Due to the hot play of both of Boston’s catchers early in the season, Ryan Lavarnway may have been forced to endure more time in Pawtucket than most would have liked, but he was rewarded for his patience. In 83 games he hit .295 despite a slow start that saw him limp out to a .268 average over the first two months of the season. His power numbers were down from a year ago, but Lavarnway still contributed 8 home runs, 22 doubles and 43 RBIs to the cause. He was also voted the league’s Best Defensive Catcher. Lavarnway was finally called up to Boston on August 1st where he remains.

Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Phillies) RHP Tyler Cloyd was voted Most Valuable Pitcher and Scranton/Wilkes Barre Yankees skipper Dave Miller was named Manager of the Year. First baseman Ernesto Mejia became the third start Gwinnett Braves players to win Rookie of the Year, following 1B Freddie Freeman (2010) and RHP Julio Teheran (2011).

The International League postseason awards are voted on by the managers, coaches, media and club representatives.

This blog is not written or edited by Boston.com or the Boston Globe.
The author is solely responsible for the content.

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article


About the author

Craig Forde covers baseball talent as it develops into the next big thing. He has covered high school and college sports for the Boston Globe, and the minor league teams More »


Here are some other interesting sites and blogs that cover baseball prospects.

More community voices

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Child in Mind

Corner Kicks

Dirty Old Boston

Mortal Matters

On Deck

TEDx Beacon Street


Browse this blog

by category