This is a summary. To read the whole story subscribe to BostonGlobe.com
DETROIT — Avisail Garcia hit a fly ball deep to right field to start the bottom of the eighth inning for the Detroit Tigers Sunday.
Daniel Nava, just inserted into the game, ran it down. The ball was at his waist when he turned, so Nava flipped his glove up to catch it. The ball plopped in and the Red Sox had one out.
Umpire Mike DiMuro disagreed. Because Nava dropped the ball when he went to transfer it to his left hand, DiMuro ruled there was no catch.
Garcia reached second on the error. The Tigers went to score three runs in the inning and beat the Sox, 7-5, to take three of four games in the series.