Sports Sportsin partnership with NESN your connection to The Boston Globe

White awarded Maxwell

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. -- Oklahoma quarterback Jason White was a two-time award winner last night, taking the Maxwell Award as college football's best all-around player and adding his second straight Davey O'Brien quarterback trophy.

White, last year's Heisman Trophy winner, also is a finalist for this year's Heisman, to be presented tomorrow in New York. Southern California's Matt Leinart was chosen Walter Camp player of the year.Texas running back Cedric Benson won the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top runner, gaining 1,764 yards and scoring 20 touchdowns. Georgia defensive end David Pollack won the Chuck Bednarik Trophy as the nation's best defensive player.

Oklahoma offensive tackle Jammal Brown took the Outland Trophy as best interior lineman.

Also, Michigan's Braylon Edwards took the Biletnikoff Award for best wide receiver and Auburn's Carlos Rogers won the Jim Thorpe Award for best defensive back.

Today (free)
Yesterday (free)
Past 30 days
Last 12 months
 Advanced search / Historic Archives