your connection to The Boston Globe

Mass., 4 other states seek stiffer penalties for refusing breath tests

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- States are trying to toughen penalties for suspected drunk drivers who refuse to take a breath test, arguing that motorists too often get a milder penalty than if they had provided evidence that could convict them.

Bills to lengthen license suspensions or make it a criminal offense to refuse a test are pending in five states, including Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Ohio, where the percentages of people refusing are among the highest in the nation.

Nationwide, an average of 25 percent of people pulled over on suspicion of drunken driving refuse to take a breath test, which is designed to estimate the amount of alcohol in the blood, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

In every state but Nevada, the punishment is a suspended driver's license. Still, people who refuse believing they would fail a test might avoid a drunken driving conviction and jail time.

''We are seeing cases where people are being stopped 10, 15, 20, 30 times," said Massachusetts state Representative Todd Smola, a Republican from Palmer. ''Every single case they are refusing the breath test, paying their lawyer a few bucks."

Defense attorneys and motorist groups oppose stricter penalties, and some lawmakers do not see the need.

A proposal in Illinois would increase suspensions to one year from six months. Most drunken driving cases are handled within that six months, said Illinois state Representative Robert Molaro, a Democrat from Chicago. A convicted driver would then get a more severe penalty: a revoked license. An acquitted motorist would still be punished by the suspension, which would be unfair, he said.

''What do we gain by going to a year? I don't get it," Molaro said.

In all, bills were introduced in 15 states in 2005. Some did not make it to the debate stage. Maryland, Montana, and Virginia approved stricter punishment, with Montana adding up to a $2,000 fine and two days to six months in jail if a person is caught driving with a license that was suspended for refusing a test, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.

In Ohio, a Senate-passed proposal to double the length of most license suspensions now goes to the House. About 40 percent of Ohio suspects refuse the test, the sixth highest among 41 states where data were available, according to a study by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. That is despite the state being among 19 that already add penalties such as jail time to the license suspension.

Motorists refuse tests for many reasons. Some have been drinking and fear failing the test. Some have heard stories that the machines record some diabetes symptoms as drunkenness. Those with previous drunken driving convictions might be trying to avoid a felony conviction from another arrest.

''The major problem is not with the first-time people," said Martin Aubry, municipal prosecutor in Perrysburg in northwest Ohio. ''The more convictions you've had, or the more times you've been stopped, you might learn from your previous experience not to take the breath test."

Defense attorneys and motorist groups say it is unfair to force someone to face a criminal conviction for a test that might be inaccurate. The machines are supposed to exclude results measuring artificially high alcohol levels if the person vomits or burps, increasing the amount of alcohol in the mouth.

Today (free)
Yesterday (free)
Past 30 days
Last 12 months
 Advanced search / Historic Archives