RadioBDC Logo
Love Me | The 1975 Listen Live

5 more Mass. counties get Irene disaster aid

October 20, 2011

E-mail this article

Invalid E-mail address
Invalid E-mail address

Sending your article

Your article has been sent.

Text size +

BOSTON—Gov. Deval Patrick says five more Massachusetts counties are being included in the federal disaster declaration after the remnants of Hurricane Irene hit the state in August.

The counties added are on Cape Cod, the islands and in southeastern Massachusetts: Barnstable, Bristol, Dukes, Norfolk and Plymouth.

The governor said the action makes assistance available to local communities, some private non-profits, and state agencies for recovery from the damaging winds and heavy rainfall. They can be reimbursed for 75 percent of eligible costs for repair or replacement of public infrastructure, as well as technical and advisory assistance, contracts and personnel overtime for emergency protection and debris removal.

Four counties in western Massachusetts already were declared eligible for similar federal assistance.