Heroic police officers honored at State House ceremony

Scores of police officers and their families attended the 30th annual Trooper George L.  Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery in a poignant State House ceremony this morning.

The Hanna Medal of Honor was awarded to State Police Trooper John Vasquez, who suffered three serious gunshot wounds responding to a shootout in Chicopee in April 2012.

The Medal of Honor was also awarded to the family of Springfield Police Officer Kevin Ambrose, who was killed responding to a call to enforce a restraining order in June 2012. His wife and son received the award on his behalf.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Governor Deval Patrick said the honored officers had displayed “extraordinary courage and sacrifice.”