372,000 voters are registered, but turnout unclear as close Boston mayoral election looms on Tuesday

More than 372,000 Bostonians are eligible to vote in Tuesday’s municipal election, Mayor Thomas M. Menino’s office said.

More than 150 voting locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., the mayor’s office said.

City Councilor John R. Connolly and State Representative Martin J. Walsh are locked in a tight race to replace long-time Mayor Menino in the first open mayoral election in decades.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Voters will also elect at-large and district city councilors. Residents of East Boston will vote on the proposed Suffolk Downs casino. More than 16,000 voters in that section of the city are eligible to cast ballots on the casino.

Ward 18, Hyde Park, is the largest of the city’s 22 wards, with more than 37,000 voters, the department said. Ward 8, which includes parts of the South End and Roxbury, is the smallest, with just more than 8,000 voters, the department said.

The city will have more than 1,500 election officials at work Tuesday, more than 400 of whom speak second languages, the mayor’s office said in a statement.

About 113,000 people voted in the September preliminary election, which featured 12 candidates, the Globe reported today. Turnout has historically increased from preliminaries to finals, but the amount has varied. In 2009, an additional 29,000 voters cast ballots. But in 2003, only an additional 5,000 cast ballots in the final, compared with the preliminary.

All 225 precincts will be prepared with English/Spanish ballots. English/Chinese and English/Vietnamese ballots will be available where necessary. Interpreters will also be available to assist voters in languages including Chinese, Vietnamese, Haitian Creole, Cape Verdean, and Russian, city officials said.

The election department asked that any inquiries on voter status include the voter’s name, date of birth, and associated residential addresses, the statement said.

Information on the election can be found on the department webpage. Voters can call 617-635-3767 with any questions.