Archdiocese of Boston announces 21 new parish collaboratives

The Archdiocese of Boston today announced 21 new parish collaboratives, which will encompass 44 existing parishes.

It’s the second phase of the archdiocese’s plan to group parishes into collaboratives. In the first phase, 28 parishes were grouped into 12 collaboratives.

The Rev. Paul Soper, director of pastoral planning for the Roman Catholic archdiocese, said in a statement that church officials were “learning much from the Phase One implementation, which will serve us well as we begin Phase Two.”

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

The reorganization is part of a plan to address declining Mass attendance, financial struggles, and a shrinking number of priests, the Globe reported earlier this year.

The reorganization, church officials say, will help parishes share resources. Each parish will remain open but will join a collaborative, with one pastor who will lead a team of priests, and one parish council and one finance council.

“Throughout this process we continue to work cooperatively with the priests, religious, and laity in our parishes to implement the vision articulated” in the plan, Auxiliary Bishop Robert Deeley, vicar general of the archdiocese, said in the statement.

The archdiocese said it would post on its website,, a range of information, including 23 years’ worth of statistics on Mass attendance; demographic reports; maps; links to parish websites; and detailed three-year financial reports on each parish.

Here is the list of the collaboratives announced today:

1. Saint Anne, Littleton and Saint Catherine, Westford

2. Holy Family, Amesbury and Star of the Sea, Salisbury

3. Saint Dorothy and Saint Thomas, Wilmington

4. Blessed Sacrament and Saint Margaret, Saugus

5. Saint Joseph and Saint Francis, Medford

6. Our Lady of Good Voyage and Holy Family, Gloucester

7. Saint Clare, Braintree and Saint Francis of Assisi, Braintree

8. Saint Mary, Hanover, and Saint Helen, Norwell

9. Sacred Heart, Saint Ann, and Saint Mary, Quincy

10. Saint Agatha, Milton (stand alone)

11. Immaculate Conception and Saint James, Stoughton

12. Saint Elizabeth, Acton and Saint Isidore, Stow

13. Saint Patrick and Saint Linus, Natick

14. Our Lady of Sorrows, Sharon, and Blessed Sacrament and Saint Mary, Walpole

15. Most Precious Blood, Hyde Park, Saint Pius, Milton, and Saint Anne, Readville

16. Saint Ann and Saint Brendan, Dorchester

17. Saint Agnes, Middleton and Saint Rose, Topsfield

18. Saint Edward, Medfield and Saint Jude, Norfolk

19. Holy Ghost, Whitman and Saint Bridget, Abington

20. Saint Michael, North Andover

21. Immaculate Conception, Holy Trinity, and Saint Anthony, Lowell