On May 25, we published a recipe for Gluten-free Oatmeal Waffles by Sally Pasley Vargas in the Food section. This came from Nixie Raymond, MS, RD, who is on the Nutrition Advisory Board of The Healthy Villi.
"Readers should be aware that regular oats are typically contaminated with wheat, barley or rye during the growing, harvesting, packaging processes, and therefore are not considered gluten-free. Those following a gluten-free diet should only use oats that are grown and produced in dedicated gluten-free environments and certified to be gluten-free. The use of certified gluten-free (GF) oats adds variety and can help improve compliance to the gluten-free diet. People with celiac disease who wish to add GF oats to their diets, should do so gradually and with physician guidance and follow-up. It is recommended to limit intake to 50 grams per day of certified GF oats (a little more than 1/2 cup dry rolled oats or 1/4 cup dry steel cut oats). For those recently diagnosed with celiac disease, the addition of oats should be delayed until the disease is well controlled, evidenced by resolution of symptoms and normalization of celiac blood tests."
Here is the list of certified gluten-free oats Raymond sent in:
What's cooking in the world of food.
ContributorsSheryl Julian, the Globe's Food Editor, writes regularly for the Food section.
Devra First is the Globe's food reporter and restaurant critic. Her reviews appear weekly in the Food section.
Ellen Bhang reviews Cheap Eats restaurants for the Globe and writes about wine.