Arts and Entertainment your connection to The Boston Globe
'Alleyway' (left) by Aaron Binaco of St. John's High School and 'Greg & Pasha' by Alaina Mahoney of Brockton High School.
"Alleyway" (left) by Aaron Binaco of St. John's High and "Greg & Pasha" by Alaina Mahoney of Brockton High.
Photo Gallery More award-winning artists and artwork

Scholastic Art Awards

More than 3,500 students from across the state participated in the 2005 Boston Globe Scholastic Art Awards.

This exciting competition, now in its 55th year, is open to art students in grades 7 through 12 in all public, private, and parochial schools in Massachusetts.

There are 12 categories of artwork in the competition: animation, ceramics and glass, computer art, design, digital imagery, drawing, mixed media, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, and video and film. Of the more than 3,500 entries submitted, 150 were awarded Gold Keys, the highest honor. There were also 291 Silver Keys and 459 Honorable Mentions.

The work that won Gold and Silver Keys is now on exhibit at the State Transportation Building, 10 Park Plaza, through Feb. 18. Silver Keys will remain on exhibit until March 11. Visitors are encouraged to view this spectacular display of work from some of the most talented young artists in Massachusetts.

The exhibit is free to the public and is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays, and noon to 5 p.m. on weekends.

The Boston Globe's status as the regional sponsor, a sponsorship that began in 1950, is the longest continuous sponsorship in the history of the Scholastic Art Awards. In appreciation of this long-running service, The Globe was presented with the 2003 M.R. Robinson Leadership Award for Arts Education Philanthropy. This annual award honors organizations that invest in the future by supporting young artists, young writers, and their teachers.

The Gold Key entries will be sent to the National Scholastic Art Awards in New York this spring. From these entries, judges also selected five American Visions Award nominees, from which one outstanding entry will be chosen in the national competition as the best artwork in Massachusetts.

Nominated for the 2005 American Visions Award are: Nicholas Almquist, Belmont High School; F. Taylor Colantonio, Holliston High School; Alaina Mahoney, Brockton High School; Grant Reed, Nauset Regional High School; and Erica Schlier, Oakmount Regional High School.

Senior high school students were invited to submit portfolios for consideration for local and national scholarships, including four $1,000 scholarships provided by The Globe. Four hundred and fifty-five art and photography portfolios were submitted. One hundred and seventy-seven of those, including the four winners of The Globe scholarships, were chosen for entry in the national competition.

The four Boston Globe scholarship winners are: Aimee Wang, Belmont High School; Matthew Kaskowski, Holy Name Junior/Senior High School; Rui Lopes, Brockton High School; and Daniel Day, Masconomet Regional High School.

The Jeff Torf Originality Award, given in memory of a former Scholastic Art Award volunteer, is awarded to the student whose work is deemed ''most original" by the program's volunteers. It was awarded to Rachel Emerson of Shrewsbury High School.

Members of the 2005 Boston Globe Scholastic Art Awards Advisory Board, who contribute their time in preparing the exhibit and expertise in setting policy for the program, are: Cochairs John MacPhee, Holliston; Walter Meinelt of Masconomet Regional High School, Topsfield; and Diana Hampe, Walpole High School.

Also, Shirley Bloom, Brookline; Ralph Caouette, Wachusett Regional High School; Thom Carter, Wellesley Public Schools; Renee Covalucci, Art Institute of Boston; Jane Findlay, Amherst Regional High School; John Michael Gray, Newton Public Schools; Deborah Haverty, Cambridge Rindge & Latin; Lilian Kravitz, Amherst Regional High School; Douglas Lack, Holliston High School; Frank MacGrory, Lancaster; Mark Milowsky, Belmont High School; Jeff Moy, Boston Latin Academy; Candace Perry, Plymouth South High School; E. Linda Poras, Brush Art Gallery & Studios, Lowell; Kay Ransdell, Massachusetts College of Art, Boston; George Ratkevich, Burlington High School; Laurie Schmidt, McCall Middle School, Winchester; Betty Slater, Chelsea Public Schools; Jonna Sundberg, Braintree; Lorraine Sullivan, Arlington; Charlene Wilcox, Wachusett Regional High School, Holden; Diana Adams Woodruff, Acton-Boxborough Regional High School, Acton; and Phil Young, Arlington.

The Boston Globe Scholastic Art Awards program is administered by the New England Art Education Conference in cooperation with the Massachusetts Art Education Association.

Today (free)
Yesterday (free)
Past 30 days
Last 12 months
 Advanced search / Historic Archives